Fair Use and a Cool Place For It

Okay so last week in my class we were talking about fair use and copyright laws, and what makes something good to use and not. So to go along with this I have this really neat picture that I found on Flickr:

So this picture is of The Snow And Ice World Festival that takes place in Harbin, China. Just a neat thing to check out. But what I really want to talk about is how I got this picture and why it’s okay for me to use it. So I got this from this link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/derekharkness/3238519038/.

I found that link using the Creative Commons Search Engine, which helps to find media and content that are in the public domain and therefore up for grabs. There’s also this Fair Use Checklist: http://vizedhtmlcontent.next.ecollege.com/CurrentCourse/Fair%20Use%20Checklist_33E9.pdf which is more or less a document saying where I found this content and why it’s okay for me to use it. For example, in this case my purpose would likely be comment. The nature of it’s use would likely be factual or nonfictional based. The amount would be small quantity, and the effect would be no significant effect made on the market or potential market for copyrighted work. This is a standard fair use form, and based on all of those boxes, my use of this content is favorable, and therefore it is okay for me to use this picture.

Personally I think copyright laws are important, but I also thing that they are a little strict when it comes to how much sharing actually happens. Regulation of sharing content will never be fully achieved, as someone will always find a way. However, copyright laws are important when the innocence of sharing, which actually helps to promote the original creator’s work, is taken into the realm of actual profit. But that’s just my personal opinion.

Stay tuned for more guys!! (More fun stuff to come!)

One thought on “Fair Use and a Cool Place For It

  1. This picture is awseome! It doesn’t even look real! It looks like something from a movie or something. Glad this picture is copyright free!

Leave a Reply

